bacvollife
Volunteering for a Healthier Life

MY NEXT NEW THING

I have an intense hungering for anything fitness, health or beauty related. Don’t judge me; I just like knowing what’s going on in that field. I am officially a self- diagnosed “information junkie.” Processing and gathering information is like a high for me. In fitness, I’m always up to trying something new. A few years ago I purchased the book, Forks over Knives by Gene Stone.   I read half the book, laid it down, probably started reading something else, and forgot to go back to what I was originally reading. Yes, I suffer from Attention Deficit Disorder as well. A few weeks ago I ran across some info on Facebook that referenced Forks over Knives. This time I took it a step further. I frantically scrambled through the house in search of the book. Bingo! I not only finished the book but I watched the movie. Can I say life changing? LIFE CHANGING!!!

Forks over Knives advocate a whole-food, plant based diet. Yep, it’s all vegan. The program is based on whole or minimally processed plants, primarily fruits, vegetables, whole grains, tubers, and legumes. It excludes or minimizes animal-based foods such as meat (including poultry and fish), dairy, and eggs, as well as refined foods like bleached flour, refined sugar, and oil. It is said that eating a vegan diet can reverse and/or prevent heart disease among other things.

I’m in the process of wrapping my head around the whole vegan thing. It normally takes me a few weeks just to ponder everything. I have to go through all the what ifs, and what nots before I can start something new. I have 4-5 people onboard with me, going through the same process as they await the green light from me. I don’t think it will be too hard. The only animal flesh that I eat now is seafood. I don’t drink milk, although letting go of cheese and all that it entails will be the hardest part. I really think I can do this.

If you’ve never heard of Forks over Knives then by all means please view the websites below. If you have a desire to embrace a healthier way of life, dealing with health issues, or just looking for that next new thing please take a gander and let me know what you think.

Anybody out there want to take this ride with me? Holler at your girl!

http://www.forksoverknives.com/

 

 

 

No Responses to “MY NEXT NEW THING”

Leave a Reply

