bacvollife
Volunteering for a Healthier Life

What I think about Weight Watchers….

I’m nearing the home stretch of the Fast Metabolism Diet as I’m in the fourth and final week, but I’m not sure where I go from here.  The jury is still out on this this diet because it’s said to take 28 days to repair the metabolism but I won’t know how effective it is until I go back to real life eating. This has caused me to think of all the diets that I’ve tried before and their effectiveness. Today I want to talk about Weight Watchers.

Emotional eating at its finest caught me tipping the scale close to 200 pounds back in 2000. Isn’t it funny how you get so used to looking at yourself that you don’t notice any change. I was skinny from my point of view, trick mirror or not, I just didn’t pay much attention. Subconsciously you know, but your mind can act to block out all kinds of stuff that you don’t actually feel like dealing with. As for shopping, I didn’t, nor did I celebrate special occasions. I was practically in hiding. I found comfort, peace, and God in food.  Now 180lbs is way too much for my petite frame of 5 6 ½, and supposedly my idea weigh is 145 so I was way off the mark. Honestly I did not notice the weight gain until I came upon a photo of me taken in Chicago with friends and did not recognize it was me. I was like “man, she resembles me.”  Taking a closer look the realization that the girl in the photo was me brought about instant shame, and you can believe I sat there in total disbelief as I scrutinized that picture for at least 10-15 minutes.  Nope, I did not have a “come to Jesus meeting” at that point.  I had to have a moment to take it all in, or process it if you will, and the emotional eating helped with all that. I went another year eating right along, but at least I was aware. I just had to devise a plan of action.

In 2001 I knew that I had to do something, I could not continue to go on like that. I started exercising but it did little good. I had to get to the point where I had nowhere else to turn. That’s when I decided to try Weight Watchers. I heard about it but actually doing it was a whole different story.  This was my last chance, do or die; I was desperate to get my life back. Weight watchers worked! I was amazed. I lost 25lbs. I stopped at 155 and ended up becoming a lifetime member. I was 10 pounds away from my idea weight but I decided I did not need to go any further because that would have been too skinny for me. Nope, I did not want to start looking like a crack head. Had I been 25 years of age that would have been idea, but as you start to mature you have to know when to stop.

With Weight Watchers your food is assigned points. They use the PointsPlus system which is based on calorie content. It also accounts for the ways our body processes calories depending on the nutritional content of the food. The system uses the grams of total fat, carbohydrate, dietary fiber and protein to calculate the assigned PointsPlus value.

 

Your body needs a certain number of calories to run. If you are heavier, you need more calories. If you are slimmer, you need less. This is why, as you lose weight, your weight loss becomes harder. Take in more calories than you need and you will store away fat. Take in fewer calories than you need and your body will begin depleting your fat reserves.

 

The only problem that I had with Weight Watchers is that I could not see myself counting calories for the rest of my life. I kept the weight off for 2-3 years and then I was back with the yo-yo dieting once again.  Yes, life happens and so it is!

 

 Image

One Response to “What I think about Weight Watchers….”


Leave a Reply

