bacvollife
Volunteering for a Healthier Life

Week 1- Fast Metabolism Diet

On, Monday, March 3, I started the Fast Metabolism Diet by Haylie Pomroy.  My beginning weight was 159. So far I’ve completed 4 full days. The first 2 days was Phase I, where you can eat lots of good carbs, veggies and proteins.  If you are a fruit lover then you will be in diet heaven. I’m not big on fruit but the natural sugars were much appreciated. I never realized how good apples were especially those Honey Crips.  On Wednesday, I started Phase 2. Phase 2 is heavy on proteins and vegetables only. I am a vegetarian who only eats certain types of seafood so loading up on protein was extremely hard for me.  In a moment of weakness I felt like quitting. Those were the hardest 2 days of my life. I ate lots of tuna and salmon. I hit Earthfare and purchased some soy nuggets but later found out that it contains wheat which is a Fast Metabolism no no. Wheat is not allowed on this 28 day program.  I plan to do better next time. Today I entered Phase 3 once again I get good, healthy carbs. Also for the first time I’m allowed healthy fats. My lunch bag is loaded with almond butter, guacamole, nuts, grains and proteins. I am so glad that I get carbs as they are my true loves. This morning for breakfast I ate rice cereal, almond milk, a boiled egg and I had to eat a veggie so I chose carrots. Yeah, I know, carrots don’t really seem to fit but I made it work.

In four days I have learned a lot of dos and don’ts. For instance, never try to cook steel cut oats in the morning when you’re pressed for time. Cook them the night before, warm it up the next morning and then add your toppings Also, when you’re making a smoothie that you’ve never made before, do it at night, or at least have everything ready. Sometimes a food processor can work better than a blender. Note to self: purchase a food processor. Also cut up all your raw veggies at night!

 My sister starts this diet on Monday and I’m happy that I will have someone to compare notes with. I ‘m a little worried about weighing on next Monday since I might have screwed up this whole week up with my purchase of soy nuggets.

The only thing you’re allowed to drink on this diet besides fruit smoothies is water. The rule of thumb is to drink ½ your body weight in fluid ounces. I am supposed to drink 79.5 fluid ounces. I am a big water lover but find myself adding lemon juice in order to drink more.  

Below are all the DON’T”s of the diet in a nutshell:

  • Wheat
  • Corn
  • Dairy
  • Soy
  • Refined sugar
  • Caffeine
  • Alcohol
  • Avoid alcohol
  • Dried fruit and fruit juices
  • Avoid dried fruit
  • Avoid fruit juices
  • Artificial sweeteners
  • Avoid artificial sweeteners
  • Fat-free “diet” foods

 

I have attached a “Cheat sheet” to this diet for those that might be interested in trying it.

http://www.chewfo.com/diets/the-fast-metabolism-diet-by-haylie-pomroy-2013-what-to-eat-and-foods-to-avoid-food-list/

 

 

One Response to “Week 1- Fast Metabolism Diet”


Leave a Reply

